Wonderful News (With A Caveat)

I was truly in awe of the spectacle of American innovation that I witnessed in the Air & Space Museum in Washington, DC.  I wish I could have had a week to go in and look at the minutiae of all of the exhibits, but, alas, my time in the capital was short.  I was left with a new admiration for NASA, the thousands of people who have worked tirelessly to discover the boundaries of the human body, its role in propelling America to the forefront of space exploration, not to mention develop many technological inventions along the way that we take for granted in the 21st century.  

I was excited when President Bush announced that we will return to the Moon by 2020 and Mars soon thereafter.  I think that such forward-thinking in the fields of science and math are a sign of a healthy, vibrant nation and that the opportunities are endless.

All this having been said, I didn’t really feel excited as I probably should have when it was announced that NASA found ice on Mars.  My initial reaction didn’t go much beyond the phase of “whoop-de-do.”  I still find it difficult to grasp that we spent nearly $1 trillion over 30+ years to find something that I can find in my freezer.  What’s next?  Are we going to look for Hot Pockets?  Cookies?  That package of chicken taquitos that NOBODY WANTS?  But I digress.  Congratulations to NASA.  Now get that rover a scotch and see if Martian ice melts any quicker than ours.

Leave a Reply

